Don Barrow - Tour of Cheshire Historic Road Rally 2018 HRCR Championship


Mike Harrison Mike Harrison - Email

Clerk of the Course

Latest update from Mike

Time for my first update on our 2018 event now I'm back from our African adventures with the PV on ERA's Safari Challenge.

But first, I could not possibly start without saying how sad I and all the Tour of Cheshire team and other KDMC members were to hear of Nigel Raeburn's recent death, after his battle with cancer over the last couple of years. As you will know Nigel has been involved with, amongst other motorsport activities, the Tour of Cheshire since its inception in 2004. He was Clerk of the Course for five years before he asked me to take over from him. He continued to be very much involved with all the subsequent events on the organising team and was also CLO and VIP liaison officer up until the event earlier this year. He would also ensure we were on the 'straight and narrow' and would use his considerable knowledge and experience to guide us at times of difficulty. His wise counsel was always available. He will be sadly missed. Nigel Raeburn R.I.P.

Just a couple of weeks before he passed away I let him know the progress on the 2018 event and he was saying "That's good progress but don't take your foot off the pedal just because you're off to Africa."

We are I hope planning an 2018 event which Nigel would be proud of. The initial planned route has been driven and I pleased to report it works. This will provide 100 miles of regularity sections from a total day's mileage of just under the magic 150 miles. The test venues - new and old favourites are all booked as are the scrutineering venue - Beeston Cattle Market and the now regular start/finish venue - The Bickerton Poacher. Lunch is also sorted, but we'll leave that location until nearer the day for reasons that will become apparent.

The 2018 event will push farther east than the last five / six years to enable new venues to be used and to open up 'new' regularity routes.

The HRCR championship co-ordinator, Ian Doble, has asked all the 2018 events to help encourage beginners and novices so we will hold a teach-in on the Friday evening and there will be more plotting time during the event itself. We will also have a de-brief session after the event, as this year, to enable navigators to deal with any plotting issues encountered during the day.

Regs and entries will go 'live' on this website in January 2018. In the meantime, as the plans finalise I'll provide the usual periodic updates.

I and my team from KDMC look forward to seeing you on 2 March 2018 at scrutineering and signing -on.

Mike Harrison - Clerk of the Course - 16-11-17

2017 Winners awards presentation

L to R
Mike Harrison - Peter Valentine - Howard Warren & Iain Tullie - Barrie 'Whizzo' Williams

2' to Port Captain

Powering to victory on Test 10

LIKE and Follow the Tour of Cheshire on Facebook
Please give a Like

A few of Tony Large's pics

Kindly drop me off at the front entrance.
My good man

I definitely did NOT go on the grass
So there!

Navigating through a Cloud Burst
So I thought

And we were even up to our arm pits
on one Test

What a Saint? He was one of the most dashing
drivers on the Rally - Well done Sir

Beamer on full chat
Cath doing most of the chatting

It's a good job you went round that flood
Otherwise !!

The Maestro at work
Went quite well

Car wash Anyone
Well it saves washing afterwards

What a mean looking machine
Super Porsche 356 example

Oh to be a Marshal
Who's going to Clock In first

Previous Winners - Tour of Cheshire
2018 ? ? ?
2017 Howard Warren Iain Tullie Porsche 911
2016 Matt Warren Andy Pullan MK1 Ford Escort
2015 Matt Warren Guy Woodcock MK1 Ford Escort
2014 Andrew Mallagh Paul Harley Porsche 911
2013 Matthew Warren Cath Woodman MK1 Ford Escort
2012 John Ruddock David Taylor MK1 Ford Escort
2011 Howard Warren Cath Woodman Porsche 911
2010 Howard Warren Cath Woodman Porsche 911
2009 Neil Dowie David Taylor Triumph GT6
2008 Bob Taylor Jeanne Taylor Austin Mini
2007 Paul Hernaman "Crow" Porsche 911

National B
2006 Jim Deacon & Dave Wilson Escort RS2000 Peter & James Opie Triumph TR3A
2005 Nick Payne & Anthony Preston Ford Cortina MK1 Mike Tomlin & Peter Ward Alvis TL 12/60
2004 Adam Wiseberg & Cath Woodman Porsche 911 No Clubmans this year :

ANWCC Historic Road Rally Championship
HRCR Clubmans Road Rally Championship 2017

The Historic Rally Car Register
2018 HRCR Hagerty Insurance Clubmans Road Rally Championship
Provisional List

March 3rd
Tour of Cheshire
March 25th North Yorkshire Classic Yorkshire
April 15th Ilkley Jubilee Yorkshire
May 19th Leukaemia Rally South Wales
June 2nd Hughes Rally Kent
June 16th East Anglian Classic Norfolk
July 21st Ross Traders Hereford
August 12th St Wilfrids Classic Yorkshire
September 1st Vale of Clwyd Classic North Wales
Maybe-September 23rd HERO Challenge Worcester
Maybe-September 30th Devon Classic Devon
October 20th Devils Own Lakeland

Association of North West Car Clubs    

Cookies Policy -

Add to your favourites Back to Stage Start

Knutsford & District Motor Club Ltd
Registered Office: Carlyle House, 78 Chorley New Road, Bolton, BL1 4BY - Company No. 1606623 Registered in England

© Copyright Don Barrow

eXTReMe Tracker